U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

World Factbook of Criminal Justice Systems: Nigeria

NCJ Number
Date Published
June 1993
This report provides information and statistics on Nigeria's criminal justice system, including its police, courts, and corrections.

Nigeria is a federation of 30 States. The Nigerian Constitutions of 1979 and 1991 provide for a National Assembly and a Senate at the federal level. At the state level, there are a Senate and a House of Representatives. The Constitutions also provide for a President to be the head of state and for a governor in each of the 30 states. Nigeria inherited the English common law tradition; however, since Nigeria has a tripartite judicial system, the common law tradition applies only at the English law-based courts. The common law does not apply to the Islamic and customary law courts of Nigeria. Nigerian criminal procedure is based on an adversarial approach, with the burden of proof most commonly placed on the accused. The Islamic (Muslim) courts and customary courts use an inquisitorial approach in their criminal procedures. This report's section on crime considers classification of crimes and 1986-89 statistics on murder, theft, rape, and drug offenses. A section on crime victims addresses the groups most victimized by crime, victims' assistance agencies, and victims' rights legislation. A section on police describes administration and organization, resources, technology, training and qualifications, discretion, and accountability. Other sections of this report focus on prosecutorial and judicial process, the judicial system, penalties and sentencing, prisons, and extradition and treaties. 61 references

Date Published: June 1, 1993